Technical Ecstasy

Technical EcstasyTechnical Ecstasy

Warner Brothers 2969-2
Vertigo 9124-100
Released September 25, 1976

Track Listing

  • Back Street Kids
  • You Won’t Change Me
  • It’s Alright
  • Gypsy
  • All Moving Parts (Stand Still)
  • Rock ‘n’ Roll Doctor
  • She’s Gone
  • Dirty Women


  • Tony Iommi – Guitar
  • Geezer Butler – Bass
  • Bill Ward – Drums
  • Ozzy Osbourne – Vocals
  • Gerald Woodruffe – Keyboards
  • Mike Lewis – Strings on “She’s Gone”


  • Produced by Black Sabbath
  • Engineered by Robin Black & Spock Wall
  • Recorded & Mixed at Criteria Studios (Miami, FL) by Tony Iommi & Robin Black
  • Also recorded at Sounds Interchange, Toronto Canada
  • Mastered at Warner Bros Studios by Tony Iommi & Bob Hata

Tony’s Thoughts

Tony’s Thoughts Forthcoming

Black Sabbath 1976



  1. An underdog in the Sabbath catalogue-I like to support the underdog. Technical Ecstasy is a powerful album. The band would have been damned whatever they did, what with the out break of punk and people writing them off after the Sabotage lp. I love Bill’s drum sound on here, the bass drums cut through the mix like on no other album, the drums really drive the tracks along. There’s some superb guitar soloing from Mr Iommi on “You wont change me”. A very progressive track is “All moving parts stand still” with a great weaving bassline from Mr Butler, a brilliant song. “Rock n roll doctor” plus “Dirty Women” are pure rock, no bull, no fat, no messing.

  2. I love this album. The phrase Technical Ecstasy is timeless and powerful. The live version of Dirty Woman on the 1997 Reunion Album is possibly the best performed track on that (excellent) album. Class.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>