Black Sabbath

Black SabbathBlack Sabbath (album)

Warner Brothers 1871-2
Vertigo V06-7138
Released February 13, 1970

Track Listing

  1. Black Sabbath
  2. The Wizard
  3. Wasp / Behind The Wall Of Sleep
  4. Basically / N.I.B.
  5. Evil Woman (Non-US)
  6. A Bit Of Finger / Sleeping Village
  7. Warning
  8. Wicked World (US Only)

NOTE: Later versions included all tracks, but the original releases had a different track on the different regional releases)


  • Tony Iommi – Guitar
  • Geezer Butler – Bass
  • Bill Ward – Drums
  • Ozzy Osbourne – Vocals, harmonica


  • Produced by Roger Bain (for Tony Hall Enterprises)
  • Engineered by Tom Allom and Barry Sheffield

Tony’s Thoughts

This album was recorded very quickly in late 1969.    Most of the songs we had been playing in club gigs at the time anyway, so recording them didn’t require a lot of extra time.  Not that we had any anyway, as there was no money to waste time in the studio!

Black Sabbath 1970

1 Comment

  1. For me this is one of the greatest albums of all time. It’s a perfect horror movie for your ears. It defines what a Heavy Metal album should look and sound like.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>