Sabotage Super Deluxe Edition

» Posted on Apr 14, 2021 | 6 comments


Super Deluxe Edition Of The Band’s Sixth Album Features Newly Remastered Original Plus A Complete Live Show Recorded During 1975 Tour

Both 4-CD And 4-LP + 7-Inch Versions Will Be Available From BMG On June 11

Black Sabbath was embroiled in a protracted legal battle with its former manager in 1975 when the band started recording its sixth studio album, Sabotage. The group felt sabotaged at every turn – hence the album’s title – but that feeling helped fuel the intensity of the new music they were making. In spite of the distractions, the band created one of the most dynamic – and underappreciated – albums of its legendary career.

BMG pays tribute to the patron saints of heavy metal with a collection that includes a newly remastered version of the original album along with a complete live show recorded during the band’s 1975 tour. SABOTAGE: SUPER DELUXE EDITION will be available on June 11 as a 4-CD set and a 4-LP set that includes the same music on 180-gram vinyl plus a bonus 7-inch with the single edit for “Am I Going Insane (Radio)” and “Hole In The Sky” on the flipside, with artwork replicating the very rare Japanese release of the single. Both the 4-CD and 4-LP versions are available for pre-order now: 

The newly remastered version of the original album will be available via digital download and streaming services on the same day. Click to listen to the newly remastered version of Am I Going Insane (Radio), available today digitally. 

Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, and Bill Ward recorded Sabotage in London and Brussels and co-produced the album with Mike Butcher. The eight songs were released first in the U.S. in July 1975, and then in the U.K. that September. Certified gold in America and Silver in the UK, Sabotage earned positive reviews for hard-hitting tracks like “Hole In The Sky” and “Symptom Of The Universe,” as well as more experimental music like “Supertzar,” which featured harp, Mellotron, and the English Chamber Choir.

SABOTAGE: SUPER DELUXE EDITION introduces 16 live tracks (13 of which are previously unreleased) that were recorded in 1975 during the quartet’s U.S. tour for the album. The performances include songs that span the group’s career, from the title track to its 1970 debut Black Sabbath to “Spiral Architect” and “Sabbra Cadabra” from its previous album, Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (1973). Sabotage is represented as well with live takes of “Hole In The Sky” and “Megalomania.” 

The music is accompanied by in-depth liner notes that tell the story of the album through quotes from band members and the music media along with rare photos and press clippings from the era. Also included in the package is a 1975 Madison Square Garden replica concert book and Sabotage 1975 Tour colour poster.


CD Track Listing

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

  1. “Hole In The Sky”
  2. “Don’t Start (Too Late)”
  3. “Symptom Of The Universe”
  4. “Megalomania”
  5. “Thrill Of It All”
  6. “Supertzar”
  7. “Am I Going Insane (Radio)”
  8. “The Writ”

Disc Two: North American Tour Live ’75

  1. “Supertzar”/“Killing Yourself To Live” *
  2. “Hole In The Sky” 
  3. “Snowblind” *
  4. “Symptom Of The Universe” 
  5. “War Pigs” *
  6. “Megalomania” 
  7. “Sabbra Cadabra” *
  8. Jam 1 including guitar solo *
  9. Jam 2 including drum solo *
  10. “Supernaut” *
  11. “Iron Man” *

Disc Three: North American Tour Live ’75

  1. Guitar Solo including excerpts of “Orchid” and “Rock ’n’ Roll Doctor” *
  2. “Black Sabbath” *
  3. “Spiral Architect” *
  4. “Embryo”/“Children Of The Grave” *
  5. “Paranoid” *

Disc Four

  1. “Am I Going Insane (Radio)” – Single Edit
  2. “Hole In The Sky”

LP One: Original Album Remastered

Side One

  1. “Hole In The Sky”
  2. “Don’t Start (Too Late)”
  3. “Symptom Of The Universe”
  4. “Megalomania”

Side Two

  1. “Thrill Of It All”
  2. “Supertzar”
  3. “Am I Going Insane (Radio)”
  4. “The Writ”

LP Two: North American Tour Live ’75

Side Three

  1. “Supertzar”/“Killing Yourself To Live” *
  2. “Hole In The Sky” 
  3. “Snowblind” *

Side Four

  1. “Symptom Of The Universe” 
  2. “War Pigs” *

LP Three: North American Tour Live ’75

Side Five

  1. “Megalomania” *
  2. “Sabbra Cadabra” *

Side Six

  1. Jam 1 including guitar solo *
  2. Jam 2 including drum solo *
  3. “Supernaut”

LP Four: North American Tour Live ’75

Side Seven

  1. “Iron Man” *
  2. Guitar Solo including excerpts of “Orchid” and “Rock ’n’ Roll Doctor” *
  3. “Black Sabbath” *

Side Eight

  1. “Spiral Architect” *
  2. “Embryo”/“Children Of The Grave” *
  3. “Paranoid” *

7” Single

  1. “Am I Going Insane (Radio)” – Single Edit
  2. “Hole In The Sky”

* previously unreleased


  1. The very first album I bought of black sabbath and loved it went to see them at liverpool empire I remember ozzy wearing them platform boots had to ditch them because they had to cancel a couple of shows as ozzy done his back in due to leaping in the air he started to wear boxing boots

  2. Hi, Sabotage was my introduction to Sabbath in 1978, it’s still my favorite!
    But, sorry, don’t need the 10th Remastering, not for this price. There are a small group of fans, they would buy a blu-ray with Hi-Res audio and a 5.1 mix. Can’t believe Mr. Wilson is not interested or were the multitracks here also lost?
    Greetings from Germany

  3. As ‘Symptom of the Universe’ is my favorite song of all time, I will absolutely have to pick this one up. When Sabbath did a CD signing for ‘Reunion’ at the end of ’97 outside of Philadelphia, I thanked Tony for this song. Heaviest love song in all of history… and the greatest.

  4. Hey Tony,
    Haven’t been to your site in a while (try to drop Vinny a line now and again); but am excited to see the new releases, just purchased the Sabotage CD’s (underappreciated my ass, one of my favorites.) I’ve always loved Black Sabbath’s live albums.
    I’ve heard that you were never quite happy with the final sound on “Live Evil”; but quite frankly, I love the heavy growl of your guitar on that album. Speaking of which, it’s no secret that you’re less than happy with BOC’s BS on that tour; and have vowed to never release the live video of that show, but God would I love to see/own a copy of that! Perhaps certain persons need somewhat of an educational beating to convince them that settling for nothing would be in their best interests.
    Thanks again for all the cool new shit, YOU RULE!!!

  5. This is the best album in rock history .Thanks Tony ,OZ ,Geezer and Bill for the incredible music.
    I will listen Sabbath always until I die

  6. Sabotage is an album that picks me up and gets me focused anytime I need courage and strength. The theatrical bombast and drama are unsurpassed in the history of heacy rock music. The perfomances from all members outstanding. Eternally grateful for this masterpeice.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>